“Peacock Vow”

On another note, here is a bit of history.

Notebooks out! I love this kind of stuff.

During the brutal Medieval era, many knights took the “peacock vow” at the end of Christmas, to “re-affirm their commitment to chivalry” – now that is more like it! This involves placing said knight’s hands on a live, or indeed roasted peacock, to start the ‘re-committing process’. How exciting. Can you imagine? Let me help: A flapping, unhappy, multi-coloured bird (or still, dead and sprinkled with Rosemary and Nigella dust) surrounded by a hundred eager men in bumping, clinking armour, vying to get a handful.

“Can you imagine?… A flapping, unhappy, multi-coloured bird (or still, dead and sprinkled with Rosemary and Nigella dust) surrounded by… men in bumping, clinking armour, vying to get a handful”

On the other hand, if the bird is at the heart of a steaming feast, I’m not sure I’d be too pleased if all the men of my court were touching my dinner with slimy hands, dirty and sticky from hair gel and Halford’s Autoglym ultra deep shine polish. Peacock’s were used because they represented the majesty of kings during the Middle Ages. You can see why: resplendent plumage, glorious nobility, delicious red meat with a glass of your favorite Merlot – what’s not to like? My question is – what would we use today? What would represent ‘nobility’ or ‘pride’ – a horse? Prince’s Charles’ Duchy biscuits? Cath Kidston? Our way of doing things is uniform and, let’s be honest, pretty dull.

“I’m not sure I’d be too pleased if all the men of my court were touching my dinner with slimy hands, dirty and sticky from hair gel and Halford’s Autoglym ultra deep shine polish”

Let me get this straight: our forefathers, who were busy castrating dragons, skinning orcs, seducing maidens from hair adverts, scrubbing armour, were in those days, probably, causing ripples over society and upholding vigilant codes of conduct? This does shed a rather dismal light over OUR New Year’s resolutions. How times have changed, and I only mention because having looked over my friend’s resolutions during a catch up before heading back to Italy, I think we need a breath of inspiration.

My friend’s list: Said in best, Northern English accent and poker face:

  1. Get in shape
  2. Get organised
  3. Stop eatin’ sugar
  4. Stop drinkin’
  5. Call mi’ mum more

Enough said. I think nowadays we should bring back a little graciousness, chill out on the whole self-perfection mantra and know that being flawless at all times isn’t all that necessary, or all that exciting.

Leave a Reply

